Лого на Софийска Градска Художествена Галерия
Анимация по време на зареждане

BAZA Award for Contemporary Art Exhibition of the Nominee Artists Bora Petkova, Georgi Georgiev Jorrras, Vikenti Komitski, HR Stamenov, Kamen Stoyanov, Samuil Stoyanov

19 June 2009 - 05 July 2009

For a second year in a row the Institute of Contemporary Art-Sofia is in anticipation of the BAZA award for young author in the field of contemporary art. It falls within the already existing international network of artists from different countries of Central and Eastern Europe (YVAA) and has already gained recognition as one of the most prestigious awards. The contest is open for artists up to the age of 35 working in all media of contemporary art. The prize itself is a grant and a six month scholarship with the International Studio and Curatorial Program (ISCP), New York realized with the support of The Foundation for a Civil Society, New York.

The award aims at stimulating the professional start of the artists offering them more opportunities for participation, development, education and networking in their own countries as well as abroad. This also conforms with the policy of Sofia City Art Gallery to encourage and support projects of young authors and modern art. 

The first BAZA edition with the exhibition of the nominees for 2008 got the recognition of the critics as one of the most significant artistic events in our country. This year we are also to witness the first solo exhibition of last year award winner Rada Boukova. 

The exhibition of the nominees is an event in itself and is of great interest not only because it presents just one winner. According to the specific character of the contest the reduced number of participant nominees in itself allows for distinguishing a group of leading young artists in the country (the six nominees have been selected among 37 applicants). This also meets the expectations of the viewers for the quality of the exhibition. The presentation of each author includes works created especially for the occasion or already displayed in other solo or representative group exhibitions – paintings, drawings, videos, objects and installation. 

The members of the selection committee - Vassileva, Iara Boubnova, Stanislav Pamukchiev, Kiril Prashkov and Ventsislav Zankov. 

The winner is Samuil Stoyanov 


Follow us
on Facebook
Visit us
on YouTube
Subscribe to
our newsletter
Vaska Emanuilova Gallery